Situated 18 kms from Panaji and situated on a headland of the river Mandovi, this fort was built by the Portuguese in 1609-1612, to command entry into the river in order protect Old Goa from potential enemy attacks. A spring within the fort provided water supply to the ships that called there, giving it the name “Aguada” (meaning ‘water’ in Portguese). The fort, at present, houses the Central Jail. A 19th century lighthouse is situated inside the fortress.
Cabo De Rama Fort
The southern most Goan fort is situated about 25 kms. south of Margao. This ancient fortress, now in ruins, was built before the arrival of the Portuguese. A view from the boat offers a nostalgic experience.
Cabo Raj Niwas
Built in 1540 AD opposite Fort Aguada on the south headland of the river Mandovi, this fortress housed the elegant Franciscan monastery which later (1954 AD) became the official residence of the Government of Goa. After Goa’s liberation in 1961, it became the residence of succeeding Governors of Goa. It commands a breathtaking view of the Arabian Sea and Mandovi River and has a magnificent church at the edge of the cliff.
Adil Shah of Bijapur built this fort on the southern headland of the Chapora River. It was known as Shapur and is now in ruins. It has a commanding view of Vagator beach.
This fort near the internationally famous Mormugao Habour was built to protect the harbour situated near Vasco da Gama town. Its work started in 1624. It once covered an area of six miles in circumference, contained a towering bulwark, three magazines, five prisons, a chapel and quarters for the guard However, except for the chapel and a portion of the boundary wall, little is left of this fort.
This fort was built by Hindu rulers and later taken over by the Portuguese. The fort also has a church inside with a beautiful façade, but is generally closed, and only opened for occasional feasts. Its imposing height offers a breathtaking view. The rooms of the fort have been converted into a heritage hotel.